Borderless trade, West Africa States, ECOWAS, Regional trade and integration, Regional development and liberalisation


The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional group of fifteen countries, founded in 1975. Its mission is to promote economic integration in "all fields of economic activities, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural matters". This paper examines the role of CBN economy and monetary policies on the heels of borderless trade amongst the ECOWAS State. ECOWAS aims to promote peace, co-operation and integration in economic, social and cultural activity, ultimately leading to the establishment of an economic and monetary union through the total integration of the national economies of member states.

Author Bio

The Authors were staff of University of Abuja and a Staff of Central Bank of Nigeria Abuja respectively.

Publication Title

CBN Bullion







To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.